Dark Spectacle Abrostola triplasia

Noctuidae » Plusiinae

Dark Spectacle Abrostola triplasia

Dark Spectacle Abrostola triplasia (Linnaeus, 1758) 73.002 BF2449

Wingspan 28-32mm. Forewing length 14-18mm. You can see where this moth gets its vernacular name from in the two images directly below, where it looks like the moth is wearing a pair of glasses or spectacles on its head.  Similar species The Spectacle (Abrostola tripartita).

Dark Spectacle Abrostola triplasia

Dark Spectacle Abrostola triplasia

The adult flies between May and September. Found in a wide range of habitats including hedgerows and gardens. Common and widespread. The larva feeds on Common Nettle.

Dark Spectacle Abrostola triplasia

© Pete Hillman August 2017.

8 thoughts on “Dark Spectacle Abrostola triplasia

    1. It is quite an extraordinary moth, Jude. Some of them are attracted by my shed light which is just a 60 watt bulb, the rest by a cheap plastic shower curtain, a plastic storage box, a large funnel, some strips of timber, two 20w blacklight bulbs and some egg boxes 🙂 Oh and a clear plastic picnic plate. In combination that is my homemade moth trap. I will have to put up a pic of it.

      Like

      1. Thanks so much Pete! My hubby has just ordered some light bulbs from ebay and I’m going to get the rest of the requirements together. I’m really excited. We’re surrounded by woods and there must be many moths here. I may even get to see another Emperor moth! I’ll update you on progress 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Nice one, Jude 🙂 And full marks to your hubby for giving it a go! I trapped last night and attracted quite a number of moths. Sometimes I find I can get quite a few which land around the trap. I will look forward to see how you get on! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Your Thoughts Are Appreciated

